Am I crazy: Windows/Linux together

serpah

Honorable
Dec 3, 2013
I'm a developer who was recently hired by a startup to build out their initial infrastructure and tooling. The users all use excel and I'm thinking of using linux for the servers...so how does that work, is it possible to do stuff like create an internal domain, maintain desktop security without a windows domain controller?

Yeah but there is issues later when trying to involve Exchange (standard Microsoft Email), using 'Groupware' tools like Project or Exchange, and desktop 'security' authentication that Microsoft 'expects' you to do. This is really key with the move to 'Azure' with the first step of Server 2013 and Windows 8, that makes a 'virtual' desktop / SaaS first steps that the 'Microsoft' servers would provide the apps and so on in the back end.

If you have to ask the question then don't even think of it. You do not have the knowledge to set up a stable, secure system. TBH, I think the company needs to employ a knowledgeable network consultant, rather than a developer, to set this .

As has been said, you can use Samba for file and print sharing but you will miss out on a lot of security and management abilities that Windows Server provides.

stillblue

Honorable
Nov 30, 2012
Yes, you can. In addition to samba you may want to install openmeetings for whiteboard conferences and ejabberd for internal messages. Installing webmin sacrifices some security for a lot of ease of use and functionality.

I disagree with Ijack in that it is no harder to learn than a Windows server and it sounds like you are fairly new to using servers in the first place and would have to learn either one that you use. To make it secure you have to research some just as you would Windows server.
Heres a link to the ubuntu server guide section you may find usefull at this stage.
https://help.ubuntu.com/12.04/serverguide/samba-ldap.html