Am I The Bad Guy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lionheart13

Honorable
Dec 8, 2015
Hey guys,
My GPU has been sent to be repaired since it was still under warranty. it's a gigabyte 2070 super. After sitting for a few days at the shop then finally get sent to the local gigabyte distributor for more testing, they decided the gpu is beyond repair. they also don't have any other 2070 super in stock so they gave me 4 options:
  • upgrade to 2080ti for 800$
  • downgrade to 2070 for free
  • switch to rx6700 xt and pay 300$ (i dont even know what that is)
  • wait 4-5 months to get a new 2070super
now i get there's no stock, it happens i guess, but my options are pay 800$, downgrade, or have no gpu for 4-5 months. i feel like it's not my problem they are out of stock; they didn't have a support for their 3 year warranty products. i feel like upgrading to 2080ti is the only option because im an editor and need to work and I don't like the downgrade, but it’s not worth 800$, in fact I don’t think I should have to pay anything. They threw in 3 year warranty as a gamble and lost, they should be accepting their responsibility.
Am i the <Mod Edit> for implying my options aren’t good and that I should have to pay anything for the 2080ti?
Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

punkncat

Polypheme
Ambassador
The ongoing situation isn't as straight forward as in normal times/stock/price.

They can't give you anything they don't have. They can make that much more profit on the other, instead of what would be a "marginal" difference in price.

I think I would ask them to replace it with a like version, and would also see since you are having to wait that long, if they will also lengthen your warranty (like on hold) until you get the new part.
This does you zero favors in the meantime but this is happening to everyone. You could find out for yourself how a 1030 does in gaming....

Usually companies will give you a free upgrade when the original product is not available.