AMD 939 upgrade options (warhammer!)

jonetic

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2008
Ok so I have had a 'decent' machine

Asus A8N AMD 939 sli board
AMD 3000+ 1.8ghz
nVidia 6800 vanilla

I just started playing warhammer (awesome game! get it!) and I want my system to perform better. The game changes my settings to 'fastest framerate' and this is not acceptable.

I wouldn't mind upgrading to Intel but I think I can get better performance/dollar with a better 939 amd proc. I already got an nVidia 9600gt off newegg so my video card should be taken care of. As far as proc, what do you think my best option would be?

AMD 3800+ is only ~$40 off ebay. This is most likely what I will do, but I would like any input available.

Thanks guys!
Happy holidays!

hannibal

Distinguished
Well... a double core AMD prosessor is the easiest choice. There are not so many 939 prosessors available, so go for something that has at least same core freguense as in your original prosessor. Othervise in some older games at least you performance would actually be worse thatn with the prosessor you have now.
I have also 939 prosessor, 4600+ and it's ok with 4Mb of memory. But you have to have good GPU. 9600 is not bad but if you want to have Nvidia GPU 8800 would have been better choise (IMHO)
Good hunting for your CPU. I am afraid that it will be easier to go to completely new rig, but it would be so much more expensive alternative that if you can find good CPU at reasonable prize, you can go a long time with your computer!
939 based prosessor are good enough if you don't play the newest games, well I even play LOTRO online, and Oblivion with my 939 machine. Only going to go to AMD 4870 graphich card upgrade next...

boygenius

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2008