AMD athlon II x3 unlocked to Phenom II x4 propus

shioriharu

Reputable
Nov 21, 2014
So i recently unlocked my Athlon II to a 4 core Phenom, but it had major graphical issues and was unstable as hell.

I did some research and updated my Nvidia drivers, upped volt offset on NB and some other bridge i dont remember atm, each by 0,0625 volts and set Overclock on auto with 200 mhz HT

This made the weird graphical issues go away instantly, but im a complete tech-retard and not sure i did the right thing.

With the volt increase and 3 cores my CPU temp can go from min 25C to 54C depending on if its idle or working hard.

And with 4 cores it is about 50-51C on idle and goes up to 61C Average when working...can go up to 67C as well..

IM talking about CPU temp, not individual core temps

Prime 95 i had running for liek 15 minutes:

Before making my 4th core stable, prime 95 reported a faulty 4th core in the first 4 minutes (meaning it didnt even pass the first test)
After making my 4th core seemingly stable, prime 95 all tests passed BUT my CPU temp was over 77-81C while running prime.

MY cpu remains 3.0 GHZ even with the "overclocking" tho im not sure i did any overclocking, i just set it to manual and left it with the presets, which said CPU ratio = auto and gave me a 200MHZ HT, i dont have a clue whats that tho.

After 3 hours of running Dragon Age inquisition on medium-high settings with 60 FPS, my PC house's top was so hot i could roast eggs on it, i immediately shutted it down and BIOS HW temp said my shutdown temperature of the CPU was 67C
My core voltage jumps around from 1,045 to 1,118 and my Power Package is jumping from 36W to 108 W

GPU CPU fan running at 614000-ish RPM my CPU fan running at 3200 RPM
I think my CPU has a stock cooler

Im never really running with 4 cores for more than 3-4 hours, but im unsure if its safe at all, please help ?

Solution