AMD Phenom build: help me out

dannyboy33

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2009
Budget: preferably $1000 up to $1200 CAD max
First time building my own rig so I'm very new to this but have tried to research what I should be looking for. Here is what I have so far:

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 (3.0Ghz)(-$240)

Mobo: Gigabye GA-MA790GP-UD4H(-$130)

PSU: OCZ SXS 600W(-$88)

HD: WD 640GB(-$100)

Optical: SAMSUNG Black 22X(-$30)

Memory: G. Skill 1.8 - 1.9V 800Mhz(-$57)

$645 so far, I still need a case, video card and a cooling unit and this is where I'm having the most trouble choosing, if you guys could help me with some suggestions or just take a look at what I have in mind and critique:

Fans (3x): Rosewill 120MM Blue LED(-$48)

Video card: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4870 (1GB)(-$234)

Case: Antec 300(-$70)

Updated cost is $997, just perfect and I think I have a good system. Now, this is my first time doing this and I'm still oblivious to a lot of things, so please point out if anything doesn't match or there are better things I could get.

Change the power supply to the Corsair 650TX for $15 more.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005&Tpk=650tx

There are two main differences for the extra $15: the PSU is higher quality, and it's powerful enough to allow a second HD 4870. Your motherboard allows it already so why not get a PSU that allows it too, just in case.

You don't need to buy an aftermarket cooler at all. Just take that Sunbeam off the list. The CPU will come with a decent stock cooler. You only need an aftermarket cooler if you're into overclocking, and you don't sound like that sort of guy IMO.

You could get an Antec P182 for $20 less than the Cosmos. It also has the advantage that it's smaller on the outside (more room left for your legs under the desk), Of course, it's smaller on the inside too, but you don't need a huge case for that setup. It's soundproofed too, like the Cosmos 1000.