reject

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
At the moment i have a Sempron64 3300 at 2.3 (o.c) with a Geforce FX550 AGP and 384mb ddr ram, shall i upgrade my system at the moment or wait for a better processor. Oh Yes! I use it for games

luminaris

Distinguished
Dec 20, 2005
Right now is the time to upgrade. Even if you wait another month or so, Intel is planning on slashing prices on their processors and I would expect AMD to follow suit as, they have a new socket coming out. I would certainly upgrade.

reject

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2006
I have been using AMD processors for about five years, what specs would you recomend or should i try the intels.

I am thinking of going to the am2 platforms
or
just go through the conroes

sorry about my spellings

ir_efrem

Distinguished
Dec 13, 2005
Personally I believe (my opinion here no arguen' about a guys opinion)
that right now is a hard time to upgrade, esp with new sockets coming out

you already have a capable CPU - upgrading it would mean watching a whole new line of CPUs coming out in a short time here - (example) new AMD cpu for you would mean a socket 939, and they haven't droped the prices on the 939 CPUs yet. AM2 is coming out soon. So yur in a bit of a pickle there

A fairly capable Vid Card upgrade means a decent PCIx card - which means a new motherboard - (again the same problem) why buy a new motherboard if you aren't going to go with a socket 939

Memory could definately use an upgrade there (BUT *here's this word again*) new socket changes involve DDR2 memory.

I spose what i would do if i was in your place is to buy a capable Single PCIx16 motherboard somewhere in the $60-$80 range, buy the cheapest 939 CPU, get 1gig of RAM, and get the absolute best price/performance video card you can afford (since this can make the move to a new system should you upgrade to a new socket later)