Question Android (type) tv boxes/streaming devices—how to choose?

Newb888

Distinguished
Nov 30, 2006
I've had some experience in the past with Asian tv boxes running Android OS. Often, despite the packaging , specifications, and existing user hardware (tv, HDMI cable) listed, they don't deliver as promised.

In particular, many claim they play 4K (2160p or higher) but in fact, despite the appropriate hardware they may only display (feed a 720p or 1080p) signal. I've read about this and tested it out and with some Android boxes, they have delivered as promised but they tend to run very hot and need some sort of external cooling. However, this was many years ago when most people had 720p and 1080p sets.

Is there anyway looking at the specs of an Android box including chipset in knowing if the box's display signal will reflect your TV's signal of 2160p? I have eliminated Firestick and Chromecast because they don't have an external RJ45 (ethernet) connection.

Thanks in advance.

kanewolf

Titan
I've had some experience in the past with Asian tv boxes running Android OS. Often, despite the packaging , specifications, and existing user hardware (tv, HDMI cable) listed, they don't deliver as promised.

In particular, many claim they play 4K (2160p or higher) but in fact, despite the appropriate hardware they may only display (feed a 720p or 1080p) signal. I've read about this and tested it out and with some Android boxes, they have delivered as promised but they tend to run very hot and need some sort of external cooling. However, this was many years ago when most people had 720p and 1080p sets.

Is there anyway looking at the specs of an Android box including chipset in knowing if the box's display signal will reflect your TV'it s signal of 2160p? I have eliminated Firestick and Chromecast because they don't have an external RJ45 (ethernet) connection.

Thanks in advance.
It isn't the hardware that is the problem, it is the copy protection built into the software.