Any help picking a 290?

VOLT Overload

Honorable
Dec 29, 2012
Hey there, I'm a first-time builder in the market for an okay video card. Now, earlier, I was in the market for a GTX 770, but my friend told me to look into an R9 290, "It's a much better card," he told me. Now, the more I look at benchmarks, at reviews, etc. etc., I see that he's not wrong. However, I also see that it's a somewhat more expensive card. While I would be willing to shell out some extra cash for it, the ONLY card that people seem to recommend is the Sapphire Tri-X, and I'm not too sure I'd like to spend an extra $150 over what I'd budgeted... So, I guess what I'm asking is, could anyone here recommend the Asus DCU II card, or Gigabyte's Windforce, or an MSI Twin Frozr... If anyone could just respond with any sort of clarification on the matter, it would be much appreciated. Thank you. :)

Cryoburn101

Reputable
Apr 16, 2014
The R9 290 is a awesome card. Much better than similarly priced Nvidia cards.
Now, the R9 290 is a card that runs hot, and is designed to handle the extra heat a bit better, so its not surprising that many non-reference designs run hotter than they normally would. The Tri-X is a good design, but in my experience it isn't significantly better than other offerings. The DirectCU II from Asus is well liked by many, the TwinFrozr is award winning, and the Windforce design is also liked. I would definitely recommend Asus and MSI. I wouldn't recommend Gigabyte just because I've had issues recently with them, and a little bias. Its still a good design though. Just pick the one you can afford.

Embra

Distinguished
Actually, the Sapphire Tri-X cools quite well. As true with any card, you would want a case that moves air well.
I sit at 33-34 idle, 61-62 under load.

Sapphire is probably the top maker of AMD, Asus, MSI and Gigabyte are fine too.

If you are playing at 1080p, a 280x or 770 will do you quite well if you are worried about price.