Any improvements on this quiet gaming build?

dwstern

Prominent
Mar 7, 2017
Hi folks,

I'm about to build a new gaming PC, and would like to ask for opinions on the following build info. This will be the first PC I've built in 5 years and my fourth build ever. So, while I'm not a total newbie, I'm out of practice and definitely not an expert.

I'd like a gaming PC first, for playing Elite Dangerous, Falcon BMS 4.33, Star Citizen, Mass Effect Andromeda and other games generally over the next 2-3 years. I have a good business laptop for general web browsing/office stuff. Having looked at liquid cooling quite carefully over the past week or two, I'm inclined to just go with a quiet air-cooled design. I can and will overclock a little, but not massively since low noise (and perhaps low heat output) is much more important to me than squeezing every last frame per second out of some game.

I only need to buy the main system - I already have, or will get, all the other peripherals (Samsung CF791 monitor capable of 3440x1440@100Hz but no G-Sync, keyboard mouse etc) separately.

Approximate Purchase Date: Next week

Budget Range: GBP £2,250-2,500 Before Rebates; Before Shipping

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming

Are you buying a monitor: No - already bought Samsung CF791

Parts to Upgrade: Main system - new case, and new everything which goes in it

Do you need to buy OS: Yes - intend Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (so I can join it to my home domain)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Aria PC, Amazon.co.uk, Ebuyer.co.uk - don't worry too much about finding me the best price, I'm more concerned with identifying the right parts for now.

Parts Preferences: No strong preference, but Intel CPUs, Asus Mobos. Happy to consider alternatives.