[SOLVED] Any reason to still get Intel instead of Ryzen?

chasep255

Honorable
Dec 13, 2014
I am looking to build a new system. Right now the only real advantage I can see for Intel is the availability. Ryzen seems like the obvious choice for windows gamers, but are there any other features intel offers that amd does not? Is there any reason I should stay with Intel over Ryzen? I do some gaming on windows, but I am a software engineer and mostly use Linux (dual boot.)

Solution
I am looking to build a new system. Right now the only real advantage I can see for Intel is the availability. Ryzen seems like the obvious choice for windows gamers, but are there any other features intel offers that amd does not? Is there any reason I should stay with Intel over Ryzen? I do some gaming on windows, but I am a software engineer and mostly use Linux (dual boot.)
Really depends on the specific programs used. Some are more single core based so it's about a wash unless their more optimized for Intel.

As from above sometimes you buy what you can the 10700K and 10900K are both killer processors and can be bought now.

If your using programs that can actually use a lot of cores then a high end 5XXX processor...

Zerk2012

Titan
Ambassador
Really depends on the specific programs used. Some are more single core based so it's about a wash unless their more optimized for Intel.

As from above sometimes you buy what you can the 10700K and 10900K are both killer processors and can be bought now.

If your using programs that can actually use a lot of cores then a high end 5XXX processor might be better.

10900K 10 cores 20 threads is more than enough for most people and you can buy one today.

I still buy Intel personal thing I guess their hard to beat with their overclocking ability. Pretty much all benchmarks you will see both processors at stock speed and most of the AMD processors have little to no overclocking room left in them.

Solution
D

Deleted member 2838871