Question Any way to make my Ryzen 3700X cooler quieter?

Clueless1200

Reputable
Jul 5, 2016
Hey, PC noob here, just got my first rig a few days ago. I didn't build it myself but I chose all the parts. My Ryzen's cooler is distractingly loud pretty much at all times - I don't mind it while games are running since I use headphones anyway, and I'm not out for the quietest machine on the market or anything but I don't see why it should be making noise like this just when I'm browsing Twitter.

Kind of a pain. My friend has the same CPU and says it's pretty quiet, is this normal? Thanks in advance.

Specs:
NZXT H500 Mid Tower Gaming Case
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB (2x 8GB) 3200MHz
Corsair TX650M 650W Modular 80+ Gold PSU
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB M.2-2280 NVMe PCIe SSD
Crucial MX500 1TB 2.5" SATA III SSD
Seagate BarraCuda 2TB SATA III 3.5" HDD
x2 BitFenix Spectre PWM 140mm Fan - White
Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER GAMING OC 8GB
Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO (non-Wifi) Motherboard

COLGeek

Cybernaut
Honestly, you make it quieter by replacing it. Otherwise, it is a decent heatsink that does get loud when under a heavy CPU load.

I have one exactly like it just a few feet away from me that will get replaced soon for the very same reason.

Clueless1200

Reputable
Jul 5, 2016
What are CPU temps at idle and load? If its loud at idle and temps are decent you may be able to tweak the CPU fan profile to make it a bit quieter at idle in the BIOS. Besides that you could look into upgrading the cooler.
Not sure about under load to be honest, would running something like MSI Kombustor help with that?

This is what I get in Ryzen Master if it helps, with barely anything running.

Screenshot-4.png

To be honest, right now I'd only want to replace it if I can't find a way to make it quieter just during general browsing. It's totally fine if it gets loud while playing games and whatnot.

Clueless1200

Reputable
Jul 5, 2016
A good place to start is with some info.