Apple Uses Intel's Nehalem Die Shot in A5 CPU Slide

Status
Not open for further replies.

billybobser

Distinguished
Aug 25, 2011
I think you'll find Apple designed Nehalem, and are currently pursuing intel in the courts for copyright infringement on the 'look and feel' of their chip.

shades_aus

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2009
Apple said about copying Intel - "They say that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery"

So answer me this then. Why are they suing Samsung and trying to prevent them from launching products that resemble their own??

DSpider

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2009
Wow... That was a blatant copy-paste. Look closely:

WOx7J.png

Sorry if I got the perspective wrong, I'm not very good with Gimp.

Mess with the hue a little, reduce saturation, etc., and I'm pretty sure it's the same thing. And yeah, poor, "poor" Samsung...

spiketheaardvark

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2009
Anand of AnandTech gets some serious nerd cred for recognizing a die shot.

Next in news. Apple, after patenting the "look and feel" of a computer chip, sues everybody.

ap3x

Distinguished
May 17, 2009
Figures you guys would go there. If they did use a die layout from Intel it was probably given to them or assisted by Intel. Their relationship with Intel is extremely deep to the point where they influence Intel's products in many cases. They are truly partners.

ap3x

Distinguished
May 17, 2009
[citation][nom]spiketheaardvark[/nom]Anand of AnandTech gets some serious nerd cred for recognizing a die shot.Next in news. Apple, after patenting the "look and feel" of a computer chip, sues everybody.[/citation]

Yea Anand has some serious nerd cred. The guy is nothing short of amazing with the information his site provides.

SneakySnake

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2009
Samsung releases multiple products with a UI that's clearly copying the iOS look and feel...

Apple uses a dieshot of a nehalem CPU to makes an illustration about a CPU in one slide of a presentation...