Aqua Computer Makes 3D-Printable Skylake CPU Delidding Tool

Status
Not open for further replies.

Saberus

Distinguished
Twist until you hear a crack. That phrase makes my hair stand on end. I can understand the benefits of de-lidding for performance enthusiasts, but as a tech I shudder.

So my thought is, is this foolproof? Or are you just as likely to damage the die?

beckerp86

Reputable
Jan 15, 2015
To the author:

I don't believe the 1151 socket design allows you to leave the Integrated Heat Spreader (IHS) off of the CPU. The CPU would sit too low in the socket for any cooler to touch. For anyone thinking about de-lidding, please confirm before proceeding with the instructions in this post.

InvalidError

Titan

It depends on the cooler's tolerances and their retention clip designs. Some HSF use spring tensioning (ex.: 212+/EVO) and can accommodate much wider tolerances than other HSFs, like Inte'ls stock design, which are designed with exact physical dimensions in mind. HSFs that use long threaded screws with no stops can accommodate any CPU height but you need to be careful about fastening the HSF evenly and not apply excessive force.

Johnpombrio

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2006
AT YOUR PERIL! I ruined a $300 Haswell, Broadwell? CPU by delidding it and then trying to get it to work afterwards. No one says that the delidded chip's top metal heat spreader will fit onto the chip after you are done removing it and repasting it. I got it to barely work by playing with the screws to the CPU cooler (just 3 were allowed to be screwed in). Eventually, it failed completely. did it help? I got all of 2% cooler results. NO, NOT WORTH IT! Do NOT listen to all of the glowing results that some people got (or at least pretended they got). they were the lucky ones.

Johnpombrio

Distinguished
Nov 20, 2006