[SOLVED] Are there NVME m.2 SSDs that also support the SATA standard?

cmw_a1

Reputable
Dec 6, 2019
I work IT for a living and frequently get customer cast-off computers. Some of these are complete junk while others are worth looking into.

Two 7th gen Core i3 laptops recently came to me this way. The problems were minor and I returned them both to working order with minor effort. The customer didn't care and just wanted new units.

They are both HPs but slightly different. Each one has a single m.2 slot but it only supports the SATA standard and not NVME. I know many NVME slots support SATA but most m.2 drives are either SATA or NVME so an NVME drive will not work in a SATA slot.

I commonly swap computers around so always like to stay with the most current stuff I can. I found reference to SSDs supporting both the NVME and SATA standards and would like to buy one of these. I have other Intel 8th gen systems supporting NVME and maybe next year someone will drop off an 8th gen with me as trash. I would like an SSD that works for now at reduced SATA speeds but can also work in an NVME slot at much higher speeds as well.

I see reference to such a thing but cannot seem to find it. All the common SSDs are either SATA or NVME but not both.

Let me know if I am missing something or if I should just got with SATA and use this as an excuse to get the next best NVME drive next year and keep the SATAs for something else. There really isn't much of a difference in price between SATA and NVME drives.

Thanks.

Solution
"Are there NVME m.2 SSDs that also support the SATA standard?"

No. They are either one or the other.
If the system is too old for an NVMe drive, a 2.5" SATA III SSD is just fine, and a direct drop in replacement.
NVMe would make zero performance difference.

USAFRet

Titan
"Are there NVME m.2 SSDs that also support the SATA standard?"

No. They are either one or the other.