ASRock x370 Taichi & Crucial MX300 525GB M.2-2280 SSD

josh.sewell

Prominent
Aug 19, 2017
Hey guys, sorry for my nooby question however I'm pretty new to PC building and am building my first PC in about 1-2 weeks, I have all the parts I need (minus the GPU AND OS because money.)
So I decided to get a little headstart on my build and look through my Motherboard (ASRock x370 TaiChi) manual online so that I had an idea of what I was working with, however when I got to the section that mentions how to install the M.2 SSD I got confused and my M.2 Drive wasn't listed there in the manual as being compatible (Crucial MX300 525GB M.2-2280) It's also not listed on the QVL on their website!
So will the M.2 that I have not work with my build or what? :/

I also have the same issue regarding the RAM that I have too! I have G.skill Trident Z RGB 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-3000 - (F4-3000C16D-16GTZR) and in the Motherboard manual it isn't listed nor is it listed on the website (QVL)

Again, will this work with my build or not?

Thanks in advance guys!

josh.sewell

Prominent
Aug 19, 2017

Thank you for the fast reply! :)
Which M.2 slot would be the best for the MX300 525GB? M.2_2 or M.2 Ultra (If it matters)

PCPartPickers compatibility shows the RAM as working with the MoBo and it was suggested by someone of there too for my build so hopefully it does work! (Will anything get damaged if it's incompatible or will it just not boot to bios?

josh.sewell

Prominent
Aug 19, 2017

Thanks bud!
Yeah I've heared some people say that with this board that 3000 is actually 2933 or something like that which is fine, as long as it runs then I can sort out the speeds in the bios!
There's so many G.skill RAM that IS compatible in their QVL with similar speeds/RGB/Voltage so I assume it will work then, was just a bit worried that I'd bought something that wouldn't work at all. Thanks for the help!