Asrock Z77 Mini ITX CPU Cooler for OCing

UCLAco2016

Honorable
Jan 26, 2013
The motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157312&Tpk=asrock%20z77%20mini%20itx

I'm not new to building computers, but I'm new to overclocking. I want to try and overclock my 3570k to 4.5ghz when I build my rig. I was planning on buying a Hyper 212 evo, but I found out that a lot of cpu coolers don't fit in this motherboard unless you don't have a graphics card. Which kind of made me have buyers remorse for not getting the asus z77 mini itx, but I got free RAM with mine and saved $50 so I'll get over it lol. Anyway I can't find the exact list but basically every "good" air cooler is incompatible with it. So Iwill probably have to go with water cooling, which I know nothing about. The only 2 water coolers I know are thecorsair h60 and the h80 lol.

What you can do is somewhat determined by the room available in your case.
What case are you using?

If you were using a large enough case, I suspect you could use the evo if you oriented the cooler parallel to the graphics card.
Even then 4.5 is not guaranteed; chips have different limits.

But more likely, you will be using a smaller ITX case where you may want to use a low profile downdraft cooler.
Such coolers are somewhat less efficient, but should still get you past 4.0.

In a small form factor case, a liquid cooler makes more sense than usual.
But, you will need to be careful with how you position the radiator.
My suggestion would be to find a forum where they discuss builds using the specific case you have in mind.
There is a lengthy one on the lian li pc-Q08 at hardforum for example:
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1481013

UCLAco2016

Honorable
Jan 26, 2013

I'll be using a bitfenix prodigy. I'm going to buy some low profile ram later, but I got 8gb of corsair vengeance for free with my motherboard.

The bitfenix prodigy is a nice case, but it is a bit large for a ITX case. 9.84" x 15.91" x 14.13"