[SOLVED] Asus B450-f boot questions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Critik

Reputable
Aug 5, 2019
So I have been trying to find a clear video that explains how to boot from a USB in Asus's BIOS. Some videos that I have watched say different things and me not knowing much is making it tough,,, So after the PC is put together I have my USB in hand, what are the steps I should take at this point to boot in to the windows installation? Or What are the steps to take at first post? Are there any specific settings i need to check or change at first post? I am basically looking for clear straight forward answers. Or a really good guide with a ASUS mobo. Once windows is installed I will still need help with the drivers and what not. So as you can see I am a complete NEWBIE.

Solution
Go into the BIOS. Navigate to the Boot tab. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select the attached USB flash drive letter from the boot overrride option. It will be a ONE TIME boot override, after which it should automatically configure itself to boot from the Windows boot manager, which is what you want.

Be CERTAIN to disconnect ALL other drives except the one that contains the installation media and the drive you are installing windows ON, until after the installation is complete.

My guide gives you full, step by step instructions. There might be one or two changed steps in there that are new since the last major update which I haven not had time to include as updated steps in my guide, but overall it will take you through it in...
Go into the BIOS. Navigate to the Boot tab. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select the attached USB flash drive letter from the boot overrride option. It will be a ONE TIME boot override, after which it should automatically configure itself to boot from the Windows boot manager, which is what you want.