Asus GTX680 Top SLI questions. Help Appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies.

lauri999

Honorable
May 23, 2012
Motherboard is Asus P8z77-v Deluxe I was able to get 2 GTX680 CUII TOP cards for close to the same price as 670's. Looking at my motherboard I have 3 PCI x16 slots. Two PCI 3.0 and the one at the end is PCIe 2.0.

These are 2.5 or 3 Slot cards. My question is if I am going to have heat issues by putting them in the two PCI.e 3 slots. It looks like they will fit right next to each other. It does not leave much space between. I do not know if I even have the option of using the other slot because not sure if the SLI Bridge is long enough. I have not received the cards yet.

I have a Cooler Master HAF X case with a side fan that would blow air on the cards. (I think).
I got both cards because I will be running them for a 120HZ Benq XL2420TX monitor and I read on different forums the extra card would help with 120hz as well as 3D.

So I am looking for someone that has same setup and how they did their SLI and if they ran into heat issues.
Or anyone that has helpful information and suggestions. Greatly Appreciated.

Other info. PHANTEKS PH-TC14PE (3 fans), CPU i7 3770K

I would also mention this will be my first build.

Lauri

Solution
I have the same setup with a Coolermaster Haf 912 case. I bought a mb that had double slot express lanes for extra space between the two cards. My cards don't overheat or come close to it for that reason. Do you have double slot express slots or are they going to be essentially touching do you think?