Jun 18, 2019
So I'm new to building/upgrading computers and I just got a Asus p4-p5g41 to kind of tinker around with and put some of my old software on and I'm trying to do some upgrades on it but I have some questions. First is it possible to put two hard drives in this computer especially with it's smaller forum factor? I was planning on getting the adapter to put one of the old laptop hard drives I have in it and was thinking about then putting a small ssd in it as well but I'm also wondering if putting an ssd in there will give it any performance improvement since it is a 10 year old computer? The other thing I'm trying to figure out is the guy I got the computer on said if I put one of my old hard drives in it that the computer would accept the operating system and I would not have to purchase one or a license but I always thought that the windows 10 was tied to a serial number or something of the original computer that the operating system was shipped with so what is actually the deal with that? Thank you in advance for your help.

PC Tailor

Illustrious
Ambassador
Welcome to the forums my friend! Glad to see you've made a dive into tinkering with PCs.

First is it possible to put two hard drives in this computer especially with it's smaller forum factor? I was planning on getting the adapter to put one of the old laptop hard drives I have in it and was thinking about then putting a small ssd in it as well
The motherboard of this only has 2 SATA ports, you you're limited to 2 storage drives. An SSD would still yield a good performance increase on this system regardless as to it's age, but the rest of the hardware will be limiting in actual application capabilities.

I was planning on getting the adapter to put one of the old laptop hard drives I have in it
You might not need an adapter for this, the HDD cage is made for 3.5, but many do also have 2.5 brackets to keep them there too, so it may be worth opening to see first.