ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i blank screen when accessing bios

robucf4

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2007
hi all, this is my first build, everything worked fine, windows was up and running, still is, but after updating to bios 0401, when I try to enter the bios I get a blank screen...

I updated the bios through the bios using the EZ bios thing, all seemed to work fine but as mentioned when I try to access the bios on a boot I get a blank screen, but the system does boot and run...

Help plz,

Rob

SilentBob66

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2007
Maybe you should try to revert to the 0202 bios and then update to 0407 thru the DOS bios update. I've heard some people have had problems with the windows bios update.

Also you should clear the CMOS after updating the bios.

robucf4

Distinguished
Feb 12, 2007
I did not do it through Windows, I read about how bad that was. I used the EX bios tool thats in the bios. Man I wish I had just left it alone =/ There are a few posts about this around but no real fix.

Baltazaar

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
I had the same problem when I was building a new machine.

Luckily I had made a floppy DOS boot disc which I used to revert back to the 0202 version and it worked again, freaked me out getting a blank BIOS screen tho.

Now it works fine but be warned this can be a very tempremental board to begin with if you are building a new machine. It also decided it did not like my memory which only works in the black slots, the BIOS 0401 was to solve the memory issues but I can not use it, too flaky.

Once we had Win XP installed on the HD the MB would not boot up from the HD, it was the weirdest thing and after hours of searching for the solution my friend found that you have to set the HD capacity to 'Large' in the BIOS BEFORE you format the HD, otherwise it will not find the boot sector. If that is noobie mistake I apologise, never heard of it before.

I hope that helps, loading the old BIOS from DOS was easy, use the MB manual.

Cheers,
Balt

robucf4