ASUS P5W DH Dual Channel DDR2 800

rvltion909

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2006
OK So Im pretty new to PC building but just built one off an ASUS P5W DH and Conroe 2.13.

My situation is that Im running about 2.5G Corsair XMS DDR2 800 in what I THINK is dual channel. I just ran CPU Z and am a little confused. I read the RAM FAQ here and from what I gather DDR2 800 "standard" runs at 400MHz...? So I dont get why Corsair says it's supposed to run at 800MHz and why CPU Z says its running at 270MHz and 400MHz in slot and #1 and #2? My mobo says dual channel has to have A-1 + A-2 must equal B-1 + B2 for dual channel and to install in B-1 & A-1 + B-2 & A-2. Does this mean I MUST have 4 stick installed for dual channel?

I've got 2 1G sticks in two slots and 1 512MB in an other for a total of about 2.5G.

When CPU Z refers to "slot 1, 2, 3" does mean A-1, A-2, B-1?

Again, Im not sure Im running in dual channel since all the sticks seem to be running at 270 and 400 when they all should be 800? They are all the same model and speed-one is just 512 and the other 2 are 1G.

Im going to try to take the 512 out tomorrow to see if this makes a difference in the way the freq. is posting and hopefully this will reflect 800. The system runs fine and has been since I set it up like this and performs just fine...however not up to the standards I'd expect for this much RAM.

Since I am new to this Im probably making allot of stupid mistakes and funny assumptions here so any help would be great.

I use this PC strictly for audio use-that's it. I use allot of VST programs that suck up lots of CPU so I want this thing to be a beast and will overclock the CPU soon when I get the right cooling.

Thanks!

nobly

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2005
I read the RAM FAQ here and from what I gather DDR2 800 "standard" runs at 400MHz...?