Divad89

Distinguished
Dec 29, 2007
I'm considering on buying either Asus RT-N65U or RT-N66U, but what are the differences between the two routers beside the transfer speed, 450/450 Mbps for RT-N66U and 300/450 Mbps RT-N65U, and USB 3.0 support with RT-N65U and USB 2.0 with RT-N66U, but are the other specs the same between the two routers (beside the memory between the two routers) I'm going to use the VPN server feature within the router, and will that be the same between the two routers?

---
David

John Harris

Honorable
Apr 23, 2013

I am currently studying the same decision (65u vs the 66u). The 66u costs about 50% more than the 65u. Although the 65u has USB 3 ports, apparently USB 3 (as well as CPUs and DDR3 memory) produce noise in the 2.4 GHz spectrum, making USB 3 devices, connected to the router ports, mostly unusable (without expensive shielding). Did you purchase either? If so, which and do you have any second thoughts? I'm having difficulty finding a direct comparison of features. I've done a "compare" of features, on Newegg, but this is limited. You basically get a comparison of marketing buzzwords. In this aspect, they are very similar. Only one feature is different, "Dual Link Support". I've been unable to determine what this actually means. So far, I've also been unable to get a direct comparison of the hardware used (CPUs, memory, Switch ICs, etc.).