[SOLVED] ASUS X99-DELUXE is probably dead, is my CPU dead too? Deciding between replacing or upgrading.

Jan 4, 2020
Hello everybody,

This is my first time posting here, sorry if I make any mistakes, I've never had issues when building computers, until now.

I built this computer about 3 years ago and live in a place where most of the time, the energy supplied is dirty (according to the readings on my NEW voltage regulator) and I did not have a voltage regulator, I've never had devices die because of the power so I never felt the need to buy one.

The problem is that my computer stopped powering on, the ASUS X99-DELUXE motherboard turned on the LEDs related to the CPU and GPU (as hinting they were dead) and the QCODE (the error code on the motherboard) was 00 (which is not used) meaning the motherboard didn't even get to POST.
After this incident, the computer was left unplugged for a couple of months and when I got to troubleshoot the thing, the error had changed, the new error, that persists up to date, is that the system powers on very briefly (less than one second) and then shuts down immediately without even getting to start the fans on the PSU, after one or two seconds, it does the same thing and it doesn't seem to stop, I've only left it to try two or three times, not sure if it could damage my components.
This is what I've already tried:
  • Basic plugging in and pressing the "ON" button -> the system powers briefly and shuts down (let's call this, result #1)
  • Removed everything from the case, but all the components are still plugged to the motherboard, placed the motherboard on top of its original cardboard box, pressed the "ON" button that is located on the motherboard -> result #1
  • Removed some non-essential components (HDDs, SSDs) from the motherboard and PSU and started it again with the button on the motherboard -> result #1
  • Removed more non-essential components (USB3.0 expansion card, GPU), tried to start it again -> result #1