ASUS Z170 Pro Gaming Not Booting Up but Power LED is on

TySSM32

Reputable
Dec 12, 2015
I am new to building computers and recently build the following PC:

Processor: Intel Core i5-6600k
Memory: Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 (8GB)
Graphics card: MSI GTX 970 4G
Power supply: Corsair CX600M 600 watt 80 Plus Bronze
SDD: Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
HDD: Western Digital Black 2TB
CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO

Currently the motherboard powers on and the Power LED comes on solid red with the model LEDs blinking intermittently, all the fans power up and the graphics card lights up. The issue I'm having is when I plug the HDMI into both the motherboard or the graphics card and power up, it comes up with no signal and the motherboard makes no sound. I have checked the DDR4 ports to ensure the memory is installed in the correct position and have tried removing and reinserting the graphics card and memory. I have removed the CPU from the board and checked for bent pins but havent seen any.

Any help would be much appreciated.

TySSM32

Reputable
Dec 12, 2015
Ok I have narrowed down the problem. right now i can get the computer to post if i put it in a 4gb config with one of the 4gb Crucial Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400's but not both. Both work in getting the computer to post in a 4gb config but not together even though they are supposed to be able to.

Lokhe_

Reputable
Dec 4, 2015
Take out the graphics card, go into BIOS and change primary display (think it's called that) to PCI-E. Shut down, install graphics card again, put video cable in graphics card and fire up the system. Should be good! :)

I built an almost identical system a week ago and had the same problem.

Potrac

Commendable
Feb 23, 2016

Hi,
I built the same pc yesterday with the exact same configuration. I have the same problem. How could you be sure that it was the motherboard the problem?
Thank you in advance!

towaw1

Commendable
Jun 18, 2016

Hi i have the same proble, how can you resolve yours ?