ath m50s worth it for non-studio use?

Status
Not open for further replies.

atarisafari

Honorable
May 21, 2013
so i've been absorbing all of the praise i've read about the Audio Technica ATH-M50 headphones and i'm basically sold on them. one review i watched today though mentioned that if you're not using them to produce or master music or videos, they might not be worth it. does anyone have any thoughts on this? i just want a solid pair of headphones that will make me gush over my music

Solution
i've been using a pair of ath-m50s for at least 3 years now and i will never go back to anything less than another pair of studio headphones. the difference between studio headphones (and i'm talking real studio headphones not complete junk like beats by dr dre, sony xb or bose) is really quite large. in fact i cant listen to low quality music anymore because i can actually hear the flaws while before i did not hear anything wrong. music also sounds so much better and listening to all your songs again is a real treat since they all sound so much better.

with that said, the ath-m50x is a new version which has a removeable cable and they give you 3 types of cables to use. the older m50 (coiled cable) and m50s (straight long cable)...
i've been using a pair of ath-m50s for at least 3 years now and i will never go back to anything less than another pair of studio headphones. the difference between studio headphones (and i'm talking real studio headphones not complete junk like beats by dr dre, sony xb or bose) is really quite large. in fact i cant listen to low quality music anymore because i can actually hear the flaws while before i did not hear anything wrong. music also sounds so much better and listening to all your songs again is a real treat since they all sound so much better.