athlon mobile 2600+

MattSreeves

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2004
hi,

i bought an AMD athlon XP mobile 2600 45W barton oem processor.

i put it in my pc and it booted to windows fine however there are a few things i need cleared up:
1)when i right click on my computer and click properties it lists my processor as mobile AMD athlon(tm) XP 2500+ 2.00ghz . this is abit weird as on my receipt it even says 2600 . has the supplier screwed me over or is this a common error?
2)i read that mobiles were meant to run at 1.45v normally. however when i go into bios it is running at 1.550v and this is the lowest setting i can select. is this likely to be the motherboard not supporting voltages as low as 1.45 or is there a way to fix this? (i have a MSI KT3V mobo)
3) i have a coolermaster aero 7 cpu fan and i am getting 42 (degrees celcius) idle and 47 full load (running prime 95)are these normal temperatures or are these abit high (bear in mind this is running at 1.550vcore) i am thinking of overclocking my cpu and i was wondering what max fully loaded temperature i should stop at with my overclock?(bear in mind i dont want to shorten the lifespan of the processor)

thanks

matt

Try getting a BIOS update - see if this fixes the voltage issue.

<A HREF="http://www.moviewavs.com/MP3S/TV_Shows/Simpsons/flanderssong.mp3" target="_new">Audio Sig</A>|<A HREF="http://community.tomshardware.com/images/logo_black_xmas2.gif" target="_new">I made this!</A>

phial

Splendid
Oct 29, 2002
can you change the multiplier?

and how fast/what kind of ram do you have?

-------
<A HREF="http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/you.html" target="_new">please dont click here! </A>

MattSreeves

Distinguished
Dec 25, 2004
hi,

im kinda a noob at this overclocking buisiness so you will have to excuse me.