Athlon OC HELP!

Dantin1

Distinguished
May 7, 2001
I have a Athlon 500 with Model # AMD-K7500MTR51B-C and Serial # 239949xxxxxx. So I know I have week 49 type of the CPU. How much overclocking can be done before unstable. I have in mind to purchase the Socket A / 370 Bonded Fin CPU Fan with Copper Base. This is suppost to be good up to a 1.2 gig proccessor. If anyone out there has a really fast Overclock and did it by soldering the resistors. How fast? Core Voltage? Cooling Method? Required Powersupply? I'm currently running this at 550 since I set the motherboard to 110 Mhz FSB and Bios to 110. Did I need to do both? What FSB setting should I put my motherboard? Oh yes I'm running this on a K7M rev. 1.04 Motherboard, has the VIA 686A Southbridge chipset and AMD-751 Northbridge. I also have Micron SDRAM 128 Megs of Ram PC-133. Current Power Suppy is 235 Watts. Sorry I'm a newbie at this and I know Athelon 500's have been out for a couple of years. But any info will be appretiated! Thanks,

Dantin

P.S. Is overclocking legal?

G

Before I begin...Overclocking is perfectly legal, but it does void your warranty. Your 500Mhz CPU is probably out-of-warranty by now anyway.