ATI + Linux primer.

Just saw an interesting thread with some quick and simple info.

<A HREF="http://www.rage3d.com/content/articles/atilinuxhowto/Linux_ATI.html#SECTION00071000000000000000" target="_new">http://www.rage3d.com/content/articles/atilinuxhowto/Linux_ATI.html#SECTION00071000000000000000</A>

Just FYI.

- You need a licence to buy a gun, but they'll sell anyone a stamp <i>(or internet account)</i> ! - <font color=green>RED </font color=green> <font color=red> GREEN</font color=red> GA to SK :evil:

<b>-NEW PIC IN THGC ALBUM-</b>

kinney

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2001
Thats a good FAQ.
No information on 64bit linux drivers though. Hardcore linux heads use A64s to run 64bit linux and need 64bit driver support, only NV offers this currently.
I'm no linux expert, I wonder what they do about the other less crucial devices in their system, must use some kind of generic wrapper drivers.

----
I just tell it like it is and some can't handle it. If your experience is different, well congratu-fukulation.
<b>I’M NOT A ATI FANBOY, I’M NOT A NV FANBOY, I’M A STABILITY FANBOY</b>

Yeah I commented on that a whie back in <A HREF="http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardware/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=378373#378373" target="_new">this thread</A> when raretech was looking for a linux card. It is a shortcoming of the line right now, but realistically the linux crowd is a minority and it didn't surprise me. However it is an obvious hole in ATI's offerings. LJ even said they wanted to go with an ATI but it was not possible, and they were very please with the results of their nV card (despite some early issues due to a poor immature engineering sample bios on their card IIRC).
Since neither nV nor ATI will open up their drivers, it will be up to ATI to get it to work I think. Likely something for the new year, don't know though, I'm not sure how hard they are working on it, may be spring?