ATI mobility 5870 GDDR 3 vs GDDR 5 performance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bele

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010
Hi, absolute newbie here. In what part of gaming performance will I see the difference between a GDDR3 and a GDDR5 memory for the Mobility 5870? It'll be paired with a core i5 450m and 4Gs of ram.

Thanks!

Solution

Like i said,the difference isn't huge,don't worry about it

Bele

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010
There isn't really a price difference factor as I'm only looking at one laptop. The laptop in question is an MSI gx660 15" [it offers gddr3 on my local vendor - SEA region]. I don't really have other options for a 15" gaming laptop and that card seems to be the best that I can get, just that I'm not how much of a gaming performance I stand to lose on it or not.

If you know of any other 15" gaming laptops with a GPU on par to that, I'd gladly check it out.

Bele

Distinguished
Aug 22, 2010
@maziar, with shipping costs, it'll come out a lot bigger [$200 bigger] than compared to my local retailer with the same specs [save for a gddr 3/5 differential]. I'll be running it on a 720p [1366x768] resolution anyway. would the gddr 3/5 tech have any performance/huge difference on that kind of resolution with high visual settings?

@sadseada123, I checked out NBC.net before asking here and I couldn't find a review/benchmark/comparison for the ATI 5870 gddr3. All I'm getting are gddr5 reviews on the card. Would you mind linking it please?

Like i said,the difference isn't huge,don't worry about it

Solution
Laptop video cards will always be slower than a desktop version. So the ATI 5870 DDR3 (mobile) vs a desktop ATI 5870 DDR5 can't really be compared. Ultimately, because of the design of a laptop the DDR3 isn't going to be a limiting factor to begin with.