Audio popping Gigabyte Aorus Z270X Gaming 7 motherboard

Grimsilver

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2011
Hello hello. So I recently built a new pc and...despite the negative reviews I decided to try out this Z270X Gaming 7 motherboard from Gigabyte. I have tried looking up a solution, but I can't really find any solutions to the issue aside from everyone saying avoid the motherboard, or simply RMA it. I'm not 100% certain if it's faulty, or something wrong with the software? Basically the audio just has small pops every now and then. I am using the supposed correct software, the Soundblaster Recon3Di software, and have disabled the "Crystalizer" already since that apparently fixed the issue for some other folks.

I'm pretty new to audio issues, and I haven't had them before, so I am sort of at a loss on what to try next.

Thanks

Solution

If it turns out to be a defective motherboard design they can't fix, they would send you a different model, but if it is fixable they would replace it with the same model. Motherboard makers are issuing BIOS and driver updates all the time because they discover...

1. Although many people may have a bad opinion of this motherboard, Gigabyte is a respected motherboard manufacturer who are not in the habit of releasing defective hardware onto the market.

2. I think it's very unlikely the hardware is faulty. Motherboards have become become so complex, with so many features built in, the problem is far more likely due to how your hardware and software are configured.

Make sure the latest audio drivers are installed.

Your motherboard has 2 key audio features. "Creative Sound Core 3D chip" and "TI Burr Brown® OPA2134 operational amplifier". The 2nd one i have never heard of before, but an amplifier is something that could release a sudden burst of power and cause audio popping.