Question Autodesk Maya spec question

Aug 11, 2019
Hello! I am a Maya animator user and I am trying to buy a new desktop tower and I was wondering if this spec(especially the graphic card part) can hold up Maya. I'm not worried about the i7 processor or the 16GB RAM but I'm not sure if the graphic card would be powerful enough. In the official Autodesk website they said it is ideal to have NVIDIA graphic cards and they were all 6GBs but I would rather use a ready to go system as is if it is possible! Thank you so much for your help whoever replies!

Graphics ASUS GeForce GTX 1060 3GB
Processor Model Intel Core i7-8700K Processor 6-Core/12-Thread
Motherboard Asus TUF Z370-Plus Gaming
Standard Memory 16GB DDR4
SSD 512GB M.2 SSD
Hard Drive Capacity 2TB Hard Drive
Case CORSAIR Carbide Series SPEC-OMEGA RGB Case
Power Supply Corsair VS550 Power Supply
Cooling Corsair H100 Water Cooling or similar
Operating System Windows 10 Home

delaro

Judicious
Ambassador
A 3GB card will be fine for small projects but generally for rending you aim for more VRAM.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/recomm...or-Autodesk-Maya-165/Hardware-Recommendations (This part is old and doesn't factor in 3000 series Ryzen)

A warning with MAYA though, Geforce cards get driver updates last so after updating you might find yourself glitchy for a few days to a few weeks until they patch up.

I'm guessing your buying the entire pc instead of building?

A i7 8700K albiet a good CPU doesn't give you the best performance per dollar ratio, going with a Ryzen 3600 or 9600K will Render faster and leave some room to bump up to a better GPU like a 1660.

Here is a Tool that will give you recommendations based on your budget, yeah it's not perfect but gives you an idea.
https://www.cgdirector.com/pc-builder/

Here is a System based on a $1000 budget.
---------------------
Your Custom 3D Modeling & Animation Build: (https://www.cgdirector.com/pc-builder/?=Cd1xh0h0hkb)

Parts List: