Question Avira Suddenly Quarantined LibreWolf?

Dec 27, 2022
I've been using LibreWolf for 2 months now. Yesterday, I downloaded and installed the new version from the LibreWolf website (113.0-3), and my antivirus program didn't give any warning. However, today, while using LibreWolf, the browser suddenly crashed, and Avira quarantined the .exe file located in the browser's location. When I checked the quarantine, I saw all the LibreWolf.exe files that I've been using for the past 2 months (about 150 of them). In a hurry, I cleared the entire quarantine, and then I scanned my computer using MalwareBytes, Avira and Kaspersky, and found that the name of the virus was Drop.Win64.Memmapself Now my computer is stable. Do you think it was a false flag?

Ralston18

Titan
Very possible.

There are many malicious websites that are totally dependent on someone misreading a link, mistyping a URL, or any number of other similar errors.

Just because, for example, "LibreWolf" appeared in the pathname does not mean that that website is a LibreWolf website.

Same holds for just about any manufacturer's name when you go looking for websites, drivers, documentation, etc..

For the most part all that can be done is to carefully examine the URLs. If the URL is not visible or you discover variations in spelling, paths, then exit and do some additional websearchs. And trust your anti-virus/malware protection and exit (if you can) at the first sign of problems....

The objective being to confirm that the website in question is really the manufactuer's website.

The simpler the URL, the better.

But not always true: e.g. www.librewolf.com (do not go there) resulted in multiple bogus websites and warnings. [ESC finally got me out..... :) ]

I also limit initial searches to one year - that shakes out some bad websites. But, again, not always.

Caution and observation are a must - especially if googling for some common name or topic.

Reactions: EugeneL
Dec 27, 2022
Very possible.