Avoiding Static when building a pc

gtx13

Honorable
Jul 24, 2013
Hey, this is my first time building a pc, and I want to hear the different methods.

I hear people say to put the psu in the case and plug it in but leave it off, but others say you just need to touch a unpainted surface of metal on your case.

On the Newegg video about building a pc, the guy told us not to put the motherboard on the anti-static sheet but to instead put it on the cardboard case.

Should you keep touching the case or a grounded metal object while installing the motherboard in the case?

Thanks if you can clarify these methods

Solution
Yes
On Faucet, Yes that would also work - Exception would be if faucet connects to Plastic pipe - LOL.

This is what I do (US). I use a power (Surge strip).
.. Surge strip plugged into walloutlet, PSU plugged into Strip. Strip turned off.
.. My wrist straps all have a bannana plug and a Alligater clip over the top. I pull the alligator clip off and plug the Bannana plug directly into the ROUND AC hole on one of the outlets of the surge strip. (PS unless you are a gorrillia you will NOT be ble to force it into the thin rectangular prongs - LOLs)

gtx13

Honorable
Jul 24, 2013

I have to touch bare metal right? Not a painted surface on the case?

Totally disagree with realchaos
PS I'm ESD Certified
A Quick on ESD
http://www.esda.org/documents/FundamentalsPart1.pdf
NOTE the big effect that RH (Relative Humidity) has on the generation of static build up. Reason it is especially bad during winter. But even in the summer you can build up 100 Volt charge and NEVER know it (Takes close to 500V-> 1KV to feel it) – Someone say Ram operates @1.5 Volt, CPUs around 1 Volt and that nice shiny SSD only requires 5V.

Also NOTE “Walking Wounded” this is where a component has been damaged but is NOT dead – Performance is decreased and/or it is doomed to fail in 1 week, may one month, or could be 6 months that it then dies.