[SOLVED] Bad mobo, CPU, or RAM?

Nov 13, 2020
Hello! I'm rather new to PC components and recently spent a lot of money to build my first gaming PC. After putting everything together turning it on for the first time, I get an error on my motherboards debugger. It's scrolled through various number and letter combinations. The reoccurring important code was 4C. Looking this up, it was RAM related. After this, I tried a single stick in slot 1, and got the same error code. After THAT, I tried a single stick in slot 3 and it worked fine. Just to make sure it wasn't my RAM i tried all 4 sticks them in slot 3. booted fine, for each one so I'm pretty sure my RAM is ok. any insight will be helpful on how I should proceed. Thanks a lot!

SPECS:
MOBO: ASRock Z390 PHANTOM GAMING X
CPU: Intel Core i9-9900KS

GPU: RTX 3090
RAM: x4 16 GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance LPX (CL18)
PSU: EVGA G3 SuperNOVA 1000w

Last edited:
Solution
With RAM related issues it's best to first update your Bios to the latest version.
Latest version is 1.20 and available here: http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z390 Phantom Gaming X/#BIOS

You have OC RAM so manual input for SPD (Serial Presence Detect) in Bios will be necessary to have them work at their rated frequency. Your CPU officially supports up to 2666MHz so keep that in mind as the IMC may not handle 64GB at 3600MHz frequency

Please list the P/N of your RAM kit to check for a possible mismatch and does your RAM kit/s consist of four 16GB kits or a single kit 64GB 16x4 ?
With RAM related issues it's best to first update your Bios to the latest version.
Latest version is 1.20 and available here: http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z390 Phantom Gaming X/#BIOS

You have OC RAM so manual input for SPD (Serial Presence Detect) in Bios will be necessary to have them work at their rated frequency. Your CPU officially supports up to 2666MHz so keep that in mind as the IMC may not handle 64GB at 3600MHz frequency