Question Bad performance on my "High End" PC ?

nytrezik

Prominent
Jun 16, 2021
Hi
I have bought Ryzen 5 3600 + Nvidia GTX 2080 Super last year (MSI B450 GAMING PLUS, 16GB RAM, can be seen on the user benchmark below)
Haven't been playing a lot since then so I didnt notice anything bad.

Lately I started playing more and I noticed i get around only 60-200 fps every game, can't get higher or lower)
CS:GO (80-250 fps when setting lowest or highest settings doesnt matter (maybe vary by few fps))
LoL (100-180 fps) Minecraft (100-200 fps (8GB Ram and 12 chunks render))

I'm able to play almost every of the new titles with >60 fps (Sea of thieves, COD Warzone, It takes Two etc)
But it suprised me beacause on my old PC with some old i5 cpu and R9 390 gpu i could easily get stable >350 fps in csgo and minecraft (e.g in csgo map the ancient i get 80-120 fps while my firend with the same cpu as mine and older gpu (gtx 1070) gets stable >300 on this map)

So i ran 3dmark: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/20889865 (almost the same like the result i got when i first turned on the pc https://www.3dmark.com/spy/12525238)
and userbenchmark https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/43920863
so i turned xmp and turbo in bios, and got the result
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/43944111

Then I updated the bios, turned a lot of options to performance over quality in nvidia control panel and windows and downgraded the gpu driver (can be seen on userbenchmark) because someone told me that after 2020 september nvidia's drivers are better for 30 series and work worse on older gpu's)
But for the performance in every game nothing changed like it was on the beginning
Also the temps for all those games are around 40-50C (almost the same for cpu and gpu), and the cpu usage is (~10% for csgo and lol also ~20% for minecraft)

I own a 144hz monitor so it is visible when the fps drops to <100 and i suppose that I should get a lot more fps in those "competetive games" like csgo and lol