Bad SATA III controller?

starcracks

Distinguished
Oct 3, 2011
First off, thank you for your help and patience. I just built my first PC (total noob) and I am excited by the prospects of having a SSD boot drive. Unfortunately, I have been unable to get my drive to act very fast! (Read: 160 Write: 68)

SSD: OCZ Solid 3 Sata III
Motherboard: ASRock 770 Extreme3 (AMD Phemon II, A3 socket)

OCZ says this drive can max at 500; I'd be happy with 300 at this point!

Searching around it seems as if the problem may lie in the Marvell SATA III controller. Is this control just utter crap? If this is the case, what motherboard would you recommend where I might be able to get faster read and write times out of my SSD?

Solution
(1) Your firmware indicates 2.11, I think there is a ver 2.13 that was recently released - dought it will help a lot, but would try.
(2) Your driver is the default microsoft ahci driver. Not sure if the marvel driver is any better. need to know which chipset the marvel control is (Need to verify that infact it is on a marvel controller as I did not verify)
(3) Yes your score is low. I have two agility IIIs (next step up) and get in the 400's for an overall score. Mine is on an intel chipset (Z68) and using Intel RST driver 10.6.

(4) Sorry can not recommend a AMD MB, possibly a AMD user can join in and recommend one.

Not really a Intel fanboy when it comes to CPUs as price to performance tends to favor AMD. My primary concern...
ASRock 880G PRO3 AM3+ AMD 880G HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157243

This one as well. What you want to do is , like on Newegg's site when you bring up the Motherboard and select the details tab on the right side select the manufacturers product web site and once there select the specifications tab and see what they have for a storage controller chip.

What benchmark did you use/ (explanation follows)