Basic Questions On Compatibility and PSU Choosing

Simos

Honorable
Oct 23, 2013
I'm looking at building a new desktop tower and i've been wondering about some things:

1.How to tell if the motherboard is compatible with the case you are choosing

2.How to tell if a graphics card is compatible with a motherboard(and if the graphics card should be in any way compatible with the case too?)

3.How to choose the best PSU (watts) without giving away money for more than you need.

This is my first time building a PC so any help would be really useful and i'd really appreciate it.

ACTechy

Distinguished
1. Check the ATX form factor of your motherboard against the specs of the case. In general, all ATX form factors will fit in mid-tower cases and higher, and Micro ATX and Mini ITX cases will only fit those form factor motherboards. Here is the size breakdown: http://www.pcityourself.com/images/content/choosing/mobo_formfactors.jpg

2. Pretty much any modern graphics card (last several years) will be compatible with any modern motherboard. The newest standard PCI-E slot is 3.0, so that's a nice option to have on a motherboard. If you post some exact models you're looking at, can help there too. Yes, you want to make sure whatever case you get can fit the length of your graphics card (these dimensions are readily available in the components specs).

3. You can often base your PSU needs by the graphics card minimum power requirements (found on AMD/Nvidia website). Other than that if you're not sure you can use a PSU calculator (http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp) to get a rough idea of what you need. Most mid-range systems can get by with 450-650W or so (obviously, very dependent on the specs).

I use www.techbargains.com all the time to find the latest deals on components.

Good luck!

Simos

Honorable
Oct 23, 2013
I have yet to build my PC but the components i am sure i'm using are the following :

1. Intel CPU Core i7-4771 (1150,3.5GHz/8Mb)