Best Computer Monitors: October 2014 (Archive)

Status
Not open for further replies.

sillynilly

Reputable
Jan 6, 2016
Good overall roundup - thanks TH. Although the 24s at 1080 (Freesync/Gsync) have their days numbered. Good for people with low-end GPUs or no cash, but won't be on this list year-end (or shouldn't be).

falchard

Distinguished
Jun 13, 2008
I just bought 2, 28" 4k monitors on sale from Newegg for $250 each. Turns out this R9 290X has trouble displaying in 4K at 60hz. Wish I bought an IPS FreeSync monitor instead, but ohh well I should be ready for 2020 when I can make full use of both monitors.

jeyman

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
I don't have a Freesync or Gsync capable setup (280X/7970 CF) and I'll wait to see how that matchup settles out before moving to my next monitor in a few years. In the meantime, I got a killer deal on the Dell U3415W and I am really enjoying gaming on it. It doesn't have the highest refresh or the fastest response time, but I'm not a professional gamer and it keeps up with the action in GTAV and Rocket League just fine. The thing looks beautiful and I would recommend it to anyone similarly sitting on the Freesync/Gsync sidelines. High resolution ultrawide curved gaming is awesome.

rogueSF

Commendable
Mar 17, 2016
Bought myself an XB270HU and its the best monitor I've ever owned. Definitely recommend it to anyone whose interested.

Regarding the BenQ XL2730z, this monitor has proved to be *solid* so far. The price in the article is wrong though, it's going for $549 on Amazon at the moment, (also 1 refurb @ Amazon available for $478 at the time of this post). Initially, I went with an Asus MG279Q, also listed with a wrong price, currently $649 @ Amazon, (6 used available for $499, 1 refurb for $479 at the moment), but RMA'd it and went with the XL2730z.