Best CPU cooling for CM K282 and GB Z87M-D3HP?

May 2, 2013
Hi there,

So, I am pretty new with OC but I tried to OC my 4770k to 4.2ghz (~1.2 Vcore) and I am getting really high temps (up to 100C after a minute of Prime95 stress test). Maybe the thermal paste wasn't applied correctly, but still, I would like to upgrade my CPU cooler regardless to reach maybe 4.4Ghz or so (at stock clock, it doesn't go past 70C).
Here's my setup:

Gigabyte Z87M-D3HP Intel Z87 S1150

Coolermaster RC-K282-KKN1 K282 USB3.0 Mid Tower Case

2x4g g skill ripjaw 2600 DDR3 RAM
GTX 760 2gig
750W PSU

From my research, it seems like the Noctua D14 is one of the best air cooler, but it seems massive for my setup (160mm high, and about ~140x150mm width/ length). It seems unlikely it would fit? According to my PC case specs, it can handle up to 163mm high cpu cooler but still, it doesn't seem like I would have enough clearance on each side before it hits the RAM or GPU.

The H80i is supposed to be pretty good, and somewhat smaller, but a bit wary of the potential damage of watercooler leaks. Thoughts?

So I am looking for the best CPU (up to about $100) that would actually fit in my case. Any recommendations?

counterc

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2007
Your idle Temp is way too high so I would suggest backing down your OC till you can get a proper cooler for it. Although you can run your CPU up to 105C before it starts to clock its self down you really dont want to play with temps as high as you currently have at idle.