Question Best OS for Home Server

starwarsgamer5001

Prominent
Jan 7, 2019
I've got an old work computer I want to turn into a home server mainly for files and media. I'd also like to be able to access my server outside my network.

Further, if possible I would like to be able to put saved game files on the server to be accessed by whatever computer I am gaming on. Minecraft mainly since transferring saved games is a pain and takes a while. Although not sure this is possible given how the game may locate those saved files.

The computer is an HP compaq slim form factor and has the following specs:
CPU-i5 3570s
RAM: 8gbs ddr3, no idea what speed.
Graphics: intel internal
Storage: 500GB HDD
I have a 1 TB external drive I'd like to use too.

What is the best OS for a home server? I have no prior experience with linux, only windows. But I am looking for something free. Ideal something that is not command line only and easy to use.

Outside of the OS what other software will I need to accomplish my goals?

starwarsgamer5001

Prominent
Jan 7, 2019
Thanks! After looking into it just might be what I need.

I am most familiar with windows but I don't want to spend any money on this if I can help it. The computer, surprisingly, has windows 10 pro on it. But it was a refurb from an authorized refurber so I don't know if I can make use of windows once I wipe the drive. Or if the windows license is permanently linked to the company I work for.

If I stay with linux how do I go about preparing the drive for the install? I am under the impression its not as simple as reformatting.

USAFRet

Titan
Thanks! After looking into it just might be what I need.