Best SSDs For The Money: May 2011

Status
Not open for further replies.

acku

Distinguished
Sep 6, 2010
[citation][nom]JohnnyLucky[/nom]Looks like the best ssd for $180.00 single drive configuration is off too. You must be using MRSP instead of street or sale prices for the Kingston SSDNow V+ 100 96GB SATA II ssd.[/citation]

We don't include mail-in rebates. Sale prices are included.

ZeroLag

Distinguished
May 19, 2011
I'm actually disappointed in the lack of effort in this article. Even as a new system builder, my 2 month research into SSD performance easily allows me the knowledge of measuring SSD true performance.

You measure it in 4kb random read/write and 4k sequential read/write. Window 7 is natively read in these sectors. If you compare these SSDs to 4k performance/"current" market price, then you're actually giving us consumers a viable way to compare SSDs. This article just seems to list prices of SSDs without a mention of performance. Also, Max Write and Max Read are not ways to measure SSDs. Rarely do these SSDs function at that capacity.

I love Tom's Hardware. Let's keep the standards high.

This article = Epic Fail

G

I'd say any of the 60-64 GB SSDs with the Sandforce 1200 series controllers are the hot items for boot drives. They can almost always be had for around $100 with a mail in rebate, and sometimes for less. These are actually more than large enough for almost anyone's boot drive and have loads of room left for all of your personal data-with some of your games to boot!

Patriot, OCX, Vertex and a host of others meet these criteria.