[SOLVED] best Thermal Paste for Scyth mugen5 rev B + 8086k?

Nov 16, 2019
Almost ready to try running my pc. Just need to put in the cpu, cpu cooler , and thermal paste This is my first build and heard paste matters. My specs are in profile. I will be using ubuntu 18/19.04(have yet to decide) as an os. which paste should i go with? My cooler came with some but should i use that or diffrent? Cpu needs some as well. I got some cosair paste for cpu before i knew paste made a diffrence Is that and the scyth one good enough or is there one better?.This will be a gaming pc.

That CPU will run hot and needs all the good things it can get, specially thermals. This is the best out there and relatively inexpensive...

PCPartPicker Part List

Type|Item|Price
:----|:----|:----
Thermal Compound | Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut 1g 1 g Thermal Paste | $6.85 @ Amazon
| Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts |
| Total | $6.85
| Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-12-18 08:59 EST-0500 |

Solution
What is the make/model of your cooler and cpu?

Use the supplied paste. Yes, there can be a difference, but it really is minor.
It is more important to install the cooler well.
The only purpose of paste is to fill in microscopic air pits in the mating surfaces.
Air is a poor conductor of heat. Paste is better, but no as good as metal to metal contact.
Do not use too much paste. There are many opinions on how to apply paste.
I use a small rice sized drop in the middle.
It will spread out without bubbles under heat and pressure.
It is hard to use too little.

Nov 16, 2019
Have 8086k cpu , and mugen 5 rev B cooler. Cpu came with no paste or stock cooler. Cpu Cooler came with some but since im a begenner builder, wanna get coolest temps i can and not mess around with water. So go thermal guzzle on cpu and cooler or just thermal guzzle on cpu and cool paste on cool?