[SOLVED] BIOS change from Legacy to UEFI confused

OnlyAlex

Commendable
Sep 16, 2021
Hi everyone, I am a bit of a noob when it comes to PCs so apologies in advance. Could really do with some help guys.

I have a 5 year old PC built by Overclockers and it was in Legacy BIOS - MBR. About two months ago I saw Windows 11 will require the PC to be in UEFI mode. I played with some settings and mucked up the PC so took it to a PC repair shop and asked them to install Windows 10 again as UEFI. They mucked this up and didn't do it properly and then finally managed to do it but Windows was playing up until I created a new user account, (searching for Windows settings didn't show any results).

I have started to learn more about UEFI and Legacy and note that in my BIOS CSM is STILL enabled with boot device control being UEFI and legacy OPROM and legacy only for network and storage. As well as this the secure boot type is selected as other OS rather than Windows UEFI mode.

Should I be concerned? Reason I started to look was my PC takes 13 seconds to boot, not sure if that is normal or not and I wanted to enable fast boot up which I did in control panel but when booting the circular ring shows which means it's not working properly?

Sorry if this is all over the place. Any advice appreciated. I checked sys info, CMD and it definitely says UEFI rather than legacy and is GPT.

Cheers!

Solution
There are a lot of variables that come into play when moving from legacy BIOS to UEFI. The boot device needs to formatted as GPT, you can find out the current format by opening command prompt as admin and typing
Code:
diskpart
. Once it has loaded, type
Code:
list disk
; if it is formatted as GPT it should have a star under GPT located on the far right of the output that was generated from the command. If you have multiple storage devices in your PC your boot device is generally going to be disk 0.