Bios settings for IDE mb to SATA DVD?

Jim76

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2011
Hi there. I'm a first time PC builder.

I'm trying to connect at SATA DVD to the IDE conector on the motherboard.

I have a dynamode bidirectional converter which I have plugged into the motherboard IDE socket

I have plugged the power cable to a USB connector on the motherboard (cable supplied with converted) The converted now has power

I have connected the SATA data cable from the converter to the DVD (cable supplied)

I have connected a SATA power cable to the DVD drive.

I have fiddled around with various BIOS settings and although the drive has power it will not read any DVD from BIOS.

I've now reset to bios default settings, and the message I get on startup is

Primary Master Drive ATAPI Incompatable

Any ideas?

1: Re "Primary Master Drive ATAPI Incompatable", your system is probably trying to boot from the DVD player.

2: It is entirely possible that either the converter or the DVD reader is broken, or simply worthless. Do you know anyone who has used that converter successfully.

3: What's the motherboard? Does it support SATA and you have run out of ports? Does it support only IDE? That's a fairly odd thing to be trying to do; I'm sure that you have a good reason, but I can't see it.

4: 16 buck IDE DVD burner: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827136222&cm_re=ide_dvd_burner_internal-_-27-136-222-_-Product.

Postscript: Is this the device that you have: http://www.dynamode.net/english/pdf/product/Datacom%20Products/USB%20Products/USB-SI-C.pdf
It does indeed have both SATA and IDE connectors, but the USB is not for power. It connects one drive, either SATA or IDE, to USB. That's the closest product I could find on the Dynamode site, but I could be wrong (it happens fairly frequently).