[SOLVED] BIOS takes several minutes to load

Adamo265

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2015
Im not sure why but I get stuck on bios for ages, upwards of two minutes most of the time. I can live woth this problem but im worried about its implications.

Any idea what is causing it?

Im on an Asus ROG strix z270e, my OS is on an SSD. The problem persists regardless of what RAM I have in.

Solution
Mine is front mounted as in warmer climates it makes more sense to feed cool air to CPU from front than to have it on roof and suck up hot air from everything else. So It depends on what ambient is year round I guess. I am not an expert on AIO.

I watched 1st video and was a little concerned I got mine wrong but after watching 2nd I am now not concerned at all

if he uses fast start-up the PC is hardly off anyway, only when he gets windows updates once a month. Avoiding a 2 minute boot time would be only reason I suggest fast start-up on a system with an ssd

Colif

Win 11 Master
bios takes 2 minutes or windows?

if bios, whats installed on baord? try running with as little as possible as it must be some hardware that is slowing it down.
you might be able to set bios into verbose mode so it shows what its doing (if there is I can't see it in manual)

Last edited:

Adamo265

Distinguished
Apr 21, 2015
bios takes 2 minutes or windows?

if bios, whats installed on baord? try running with as little as possible as it must be some hardware that is slowing it down.
you might be able to set bios into verbose mode so it shows what its doing
It's BIOS, not windows.

I've already tried it with minimal hardware and it made no discernible difference.
I've not seen verbose mode in BIOS settings but there's loads of tabs so I might have missed it.

Colif

Win 11 Master
i didn't see it, i just looked in manual. Although it could be hiding in a menu choice

Have you looked at the debugging lights on the motherboard?
you have an led for
CPU - Red
RAM - Yellow
GPU - White
& Hard drive - Green