Black square artifacts Gigabyte HD 6870

dkametler

Honorable
Jan 18, 2013
Hello,

This is my first time creating a thread.

So black square artifacts (many 5x5mm black squares, if i try to click on them they disappear) appear on my screen while browsing the web or watching a video f.e. on youtube after about 10 secs. While gaming or watching a movie (i use VLC) it only happens if the squares have already appered before.

Also if i watch a video for a long time on the internet usually the screen freezes and goes black for couple seconds and a box pops up from Catalyst saying: "Display driver AMD has stopped responding and has recovered".

Rarely i get the BSOD with problem regarding Video scheduler, i don't remember exactly....

My specs:

Mobo: Gigabyte z68ap-d3
CPU: i5 2400 3.10 GHZ
GPU: Gigabyte HD6870 1GB (GV-R687OC-1GD)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA3
RAM: DDR3 6 GB 1333 MHZ
PSU: Gigabyte GE-R460-V1 (460W) -> Corsair TX750 v2

After reading through threads like this in the past, i thought maybe my PSU was weak so i got a Corsair tx750, but it didn't solve this problem.

Tried re-installing Windows 7 and the drivers too but that didn't help either.

I ordered my graphic card from a website and i sent it back to them to get a new one, but they tested it and they said it worked perfectly so i couldn't get a new card. While the HD6870 was being tested for a week, i had to use my old graphic card (Geforce 9600 GT) and then i haven't encountered the black square artifact problem...

Please try to help me, i don't know what to try next...

Bromeh

Honorable
Dec 6, 2012
Your graphic card is too hot for sure. Download Speed fan and look at the idle temps. Then, download FurMark and run it for 5 mins and give me the load temps.

- The Brownie

dkametler

Honorable
Jan 18, 2013
Hello Guys,

Sorry for the late reply, i've been really busy this 2 months and to be honest i forgot about creating this thread, but i'm really happy that some people are trying to help!