Blank screen after installing GTX 1050ti Drivers in Win 10

chris.moore.tlc

Prominent
Jan 25, 2018
[EDIT: Turns out it was my monitors all along. New GPUs don't like old monitors...]

Hi,
I keep trying to install display drivers after updating to Windows 10. It gets to about half way then I get a blank screen and I can't do anything. I've tried Geforce Experience and manually downloading the latest drivers. When I try to reboot it gets to the windows loading screen then blank screen. I've system restored like 4 times now and I feel like I'm going around in circles.

Can anyone help me because I'm totally lost here. It's my first time using Windows 10 and the drivers worked fine with this card on my old system (Win7).

Specs:
CPU: FX 6300
GPU: Zotac GTX 1050ti Mini
Mobo: Asus M5A78L-M +
Memory: Patriot Viper DDR3 1600 2x8GB

I've had a look around, and some stuff leads me to believe Motherboard doesn't support Win10. Other people have said it's stable if you install AMD Chipset drivers, which I have done, but could that be what is causing the problem?

I mean, Win10 works fine on this system until I try to install the display drivers...

Thanks.

Solution
Latest BIOS revision? PSU's make and model and it's age? Try a repair install and see if you can reinstall your Nvidia drivers. FYI you should try and remove all drivers using DDU.

chris.moore.tlc

Prominent
Jan 25, 2018

Hey thanks for the reply,

PSU: HP ATX 0300AWWA

The PSU is just a 300w HP thing I pulled from an old system. It's like, really old. I know it's not good, but it's been reliable. Could that be the problem? I've got an Antec VPF650 around somewhere. Since this GPU runs off the board power I didn't see the point in using it, so I grabbed this old one from a HP.

BIOS version: American Megatrends Inc. 0502, 18/11/2016

Device manager assured me the BIOS is up to date (Ikr), but I can't find a BIOS version for Win10 for this MoBo, just one for the M5A78L-M without the Plus here: