boomerang/morph

G

Guest

Guest
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

2 cards involved:

Blistering Firecat
{1}{R}{R}{R}
Creature -- Cat
7/1
Trample, haste
At end of turn, sacrifice Blistering Firecat.
Morph {R}{R} (You may play this face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}.
Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

Boomerang
{U}{U}
Instant
Return target permanent to its owner's hand.

I'm about 95% sure about this one, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I had
a Blistering Firecat out, face down. My opponent used Boomerang to rid
of my face down creature. As a fast effect, I turned my Firecat face
up. My question is: is the 2/2 face down creature and the 7/1 face up
creature the same permanent?

Thanks.

-one who is still learning morph
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

sulfuricmox@yahoo.com (SulfuricMox) writes:
> Blistering Firecat
> {1}{R}{R}{R}
> Creature -- Cat
> 7/1
> Trample, haste
> At end of turn, sacrifice Blistering Firecat.
> Morph {R}{R} (You may play this face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}.
> Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)
>
> Boomerang
> {U}{U}
> Instant
> Return target permanent to its owner's hand.
>
> I'm about 95% sure about this one, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I had
> a Blistering Firecat out, face down. My opponent used Boomerang to rid
> of my face down creature. As a fast effect, I turned my Firecat face
> up.

That's not going to help much.

> My question is: is the 2/2 face down creature and the 7/1 face up
> creature the same permanent?

Yup. Morph just changes what the card looks like. Enchantments stay on
it, counters stay on it, and effects keep with it. The Boomerang will
still return it.

> Thanks.

You're welcome.

> -one who is still learning morph

Morph may seem odd, but all it does is make the card look drastically
different. It's still the same card in all respects.

--
Peter C.
Any noun can be verbed.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On Fri, 25 Jun 2004, SulfuricMox wrote:

> 2 cards involved:
>
> Blistering Firecat
> {1}{R}{R}{R}
> Creature -- Cat
> 7/1
> Trample, haste
> At end of turn, sacrifice Blistering Firecat.
> Morph {R}{R} (You may play this face down as a 2/2 creature for {3}.
> Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)
>
> Boomerang
> {U}{U}
> Instant
> Return target permanent to its owner's hand.
>
> I'm about 95% sure about this one, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I had
> a Blistering Firecat out, face down. My opponent used Boomerang to rid
> of my face down creature. As a fast effect, I turned my Firecat face
> up. My question is: is the 2/2 face down creature and the 7/1 face up
> creature the same permanent?

Yes they are the same permanent.

--

David
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

SulfuricMox <sulfuricmox@yahoo.com> wrote:
>Blistering Firecat 1RRR Creature -- Cat
>7/1 Trample, haste At end of turn, sacrifice ~. / Morph RR (*)
>
>Boomerang UU Instant
> Return target permanent to its owner's hand.
>
>I'm about 95% sure about this one, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I had
>a Blistering Firecat out, face down. My opponent used Boomerang to rid
>of my face down creature. As a fast effect, I turned my Firecat face
>up. My question is: is the 2/2 face down creature and the 7/1 face up
>creature the same permanent?

They are the same permanent; the Boomerang is still targetting it, and will
still happily resolve and bounce it back to your hand. Unless you have
something else to do, still in response to the Boomerang, that works better
with the creature being 7/1, red, a Cat, and having trample and haste, than
it does with the creature being 2/2 and otherwise blank, I'd've honestly
saved my RR...

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Sulfuric Mox sez:

<<
>I'm about 95% sure about this one, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I had
>a Blistering Firecat out, face down. My opponent used Boomerang to rid
>of my face down creature. As a fast effect, I turned my Firecat face
>up.
>
>>

Not as a "fast effect". That's a continuous effect, actually.

<<
> My question is: is the 2/2 face down creature and the 7/1 face up
>creature the same permanent.
>>

Yes. The card hasn't changed zones, so it's still seen as the same permanent.


----
"If President Bush is going to take credit for 'the invisble hand' [of
economics], then he's going to take the blame when 'the hand' gives him the
finger."
--From Fark.com
 
Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 26 Jun 2004 01:32:25 GMT, Andy Jakcsy <djaxmann@aol.computer> wrote:
>Sulfuric Mox sez:
>>I'm about 95% sure about this one, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I had
>>a Blistering Firecat out, face down. My opponent used Boomerang to rid
>>of my face down creature. As a fast effect, I turned my Firecat face up.
>
>Not as a "fast effect". That's a continuous effect, actually.

Nope. It's a special action. (Can be done any timeyou have priority; does
not use the stack.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.