Boot Order Not Having Any Effect

shadowvoid841

Honorable
Aug 14, 2017
I have an Acer aspire e15 e5-575-33bm, which comes with an HDD, however, I decided to upgrade to an M.2 SSD. I cloned the drive, and changed the boot order in the BIOS so that the new drive was before the old, but despite that, my computer still boots into the old drive. Unfortunately, I am not able to disconnect the old drive because I am not sure how to remove it (although I can if nothing else works) however, I have verified in disk management that the old drive is still considered the boot drive, as well as the page file drive. This is my first time changing the boot drive on any computer, and I am somewhat new to the DIY part of computing, so please make sure to add even the basic details if possible. Thanks in advance!

I forgot to mention, I am running Windows 10, and I have checked that the boot order is saving in the BIOS

Solution
My relative took a look at it, and while I can't say exactly what steps he took, I know that with the help of Acer he was able to get a fresh copy of windows (from somewhere on my computer, probably a back up), and have it activated. He also got the SSD to boot up Windows. I transferred all my apps and programs to it after, and now it works very well. He mentioned a chip in the computer that recognizes the boot drive and controls the boot, and that is about all I know. I didn't get the chance to sit down with him, but the problem is solved now. Thank you again for all your help!
When you access Disk Management does the present boot drive - your HDD - contain the System Reserved partition? And the SSD (present) secondary drive not contain the SR partition? If so, that may be causing the problem. Let us know and we'll provide the fix.

shadowvoid841

Honorable
Aug 14, 2017

I'm not sure if any of these is the one you are looking for, but on Disk 0 (the HDD), the three partitions:
EFI System Partition,
Boot, Page File, Crash Dump, Primary Paritition,