Question Both (External) Monitors Work - but not at the same time

Dec 15, 2022
Hi, I'm a total newb so I'll try and keep it short...

I have a Sceptre 32" TV which I'm using as a monitor for music recording. I also have an old Element TV, about 26", which also works good and I want to use it for the mixer side. The problem is that they don't work at the same time. So I can get one, or the other, but not both. Somehow though, one time I did have them working together but I'm not sure why and the resolution never matched - I had to resize the page/browser to fit the other monitor when moved to the other side.

Also tried an old Toshiba laptop with VGA but the resolution got scrunched. Less was fitting on the screen.

So my question is 1) do the monitors need to match, or does it help 2) what do I need to know/do about the resolution 3) anyone have recommends for other monitors that might work (don't have to be 'top of the line' but just work together).

Here's the gear -

HP Windows 10 laptop
i7 processor
2 usb3 ports
1HDMI port
1 usb2 port

I have another older Toshiba which can do the VGA / HDMI in a pinch but I really don't want to use it if possible.

Thanks for any feedback/help.

Dan

kanewolf

Titan
Hi, I'm a total newb so I'll try and keep it short...

I have a Sceptre 32" TV which I'm using as a monitor for music recording. I also have an old Element TV, about 26", which also works good and I want to use it for the mixer side. The problem is that they don't work at the same time. So I can get one, or the other, but not both. Somehow though, one time I did have them working together but I'm not sure why and the resolution never matched - I had to resize the page/browser to fit the other monitor when moved to the other side.

Also tried an old Toshiba laptop with VGA but the resolution got scrunched. Less was fitting on the screen.